Juvenile & Underage DUI Lawyer in Fort Wayne, IN

Defense Attorney Serving Allen County, Whitley County & DeKalb County

Those under the age of 21 are prohibited by law from possessing, transporting, or consuming alcohol. They are also prohibited from operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 percent or higher. At Watkins Law Firm, we focus a large portion of our practice on DUI/OWI defense, including that for underage drivers. Our attorney is highly-experienced and skilled at creating viable defense strategies based on intensive investigation into the state‚Äôs evidence. These strategies have proven very effective for all of our clients, whether you are a college student, juvenile, or adult arrested and charged with drunk and/or drugged driving. 

Has your son or daughter been arrested for underage drunk/drugged driving? Get a free case analysis to find out what can be done. Contact Watkins Law Firm online or at (260) 908-9898.

  • Indiana State Bar
  • member of national college defense
  • Avvo Top Lawyer
  • Avvo Reviews 5 Stars

Underage DUI/OWI in Indiana

Underage DUI/OWI in Indiana consists of the following:

  • Operating a vehicle with a BAC ranging from .02 percent up to (but not including) a BAC of .08 percent. This is a Class C infraction carrying a $500 fine and court costs. 
  • Operating a vehicle with a BAC at .08 percent or higher up to (but not including) . 15 percent or while under the influence of drugs. You will be charged with a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $500. This is the same charge/penalties as for adults. You will also face a license suspension of up to 90 days.
  • Operating a vehicle with a BAC of .15 percent or higher or driving in a manner that is dangerous to others. This is punishable by up to a year in jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000. 

License Suspension

Those under 21 are subject to a license suspension for failing a chemical test or refusing to take one when requested by law enforcement. You will lose your license for up to a year with a BAC between 02 percent or more up to .08 percent. For subsequent convictions within five years of an initial conviction, you can lose your license for up to two years. If you refuse to take a chemical test, your license can also be suspended for up to year. You may be able to obtain specialized driving privileges from the court. This generally involves installing an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.  

Additional consequences of a OWI conviction can include having to attend a victim impact program at your own expense and/or attendance at an alcohol or drug education program. 

The Collateral Damage of an OWI Conviction

An OWI misdemeanor gives you a permanent criminal record that can create future difficulties. For those under 21 who are just starting out in life, this can affect their future in long-term ways. A criminal record can hamper future employment, advanced education, the ability to rent an apartment, or qualify for professional licenses (teacher, nurse, doctor, realtor, pilot, pharmacist, etc.). Because of this, it is crucial that you have skilled legal representation when faced with an underage OWI in Indiana. 

Connect with our firm online or at (260) 908-9898 for a free initial consultation with our Fort Wayne juvenile and underage DUI/OUI attorney today. 

WHy Choose Watkins Law Firm?

We Advise You Every Step of the Way
  • Extensive Legal Experience on DUI/OUI Cases & Criminal Defense
  • John Watkins Teaches Seminars to Other Lawyers How to Defend DUI Cases
  • Direct Access to Attorneys From Start to Finish

We Offer Free Consultations

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.